User Access
Like any entreprise product, Devtron supports fine grained access control to the resources based on 1. Type of action allowed on the Devtron resources (Create Vs View) 2. Sensitivity of the data (Editing image Vs Editing memory)
Access can be added to the User either directly or via Groups.

Access Levels

Devtron supports 5 levels of access 1. View: User with view only access has the least privilege. This user can only view combination of environments, applications and helm charts on which access has been granted to the user. This user cannot view sensitive data like secrets used in applications or charts. 2. Build and Deploy: In addition to view privilege mentioned in above, user with build and deploy permission can build and deploy the image of permitted applications and helm charts to permitted environments. 3. Admin: User with admin access can create, edit, delete and view permitted applications in permitted projects. 4. Manager: User with manager access can do everything that an admin type user can do, in addition they can also give and revoke access of users for the applications and environments of which they are manager. 5. Super Admin: User with super admin privilege has unrestricted access to all Devtron resources. Super admin can create, modify, delete and view any Devtron resource without any restriction; its like Superman without the weakness of Kryptonite. Super Admin can also add and delete user access across any Devtron resource, add delete git repository credentials, docker registry credentials, cluster and environment.
Access Level
View App
Create App
Edit App
Delete App
Trigger App
View
Yes
No
No
No
No
Build and Deploy
Yes
No
No
No
Yes
Admin
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Manager
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Super Admin
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Access Level
View Charts
Install Charts
Edit Charts
Delete Charts
View
Yes
No
No
No
Build and Deploy
Yes
No
No
No
Admin
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Manager
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Super Admin
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Access Level
Add User Access
Edit User Access
Delete User Access
Manager
Yes
Yes
Yes
Super Admin
Yes
Yes
Yes
Access Level
Add Global Config
Edit Global Config
Delete Global Config
Super Admin
Yes
Yes
To control the access of User and Group-
Go to the left main panel -> Select Global Configurations -> Select User Access

Users

1. Add new user

Click on Add User, to add one or multiple users.

2. Create User Permissions

When you click on Add User, you will see 5 options to set permission for users which are as follow:
    Email addresses
    Assign super admin permissions
    Group permissions
    Direct permissions
      Project
      Environment
      Applications
      Roles
    Chart group permissions

Email addresses:

In the Email address box, you have to provide the mail ID of the user to whom you want to give access to your applications.
IMP Please note that Email address should be same as that in the email field in the JWT token returned by OIDC provider.

Assign super admin permissions

If you check the option Assign super admin permissions, the user will get full access to your system and the rest of the options will disappear. Please check above to see permission levels.
Click on Save and your user will be saved with super admin permissions.
We suggest that super admin privileges should be given to only select few.
If you don’t want to assign super admin permissions then you have to provide the rest of the information.

Group permissions

This is used to assign user to a particular group and user inherits all the permissions granted to this group. The Group permissions section contains a drop-down of all existing groups on which you have access. This is optional field and more than one groups can be selected for a user.
We will discuss how to create groups in the later section.

Direct permissions

Access can be given to user by attaching permission directly to his/her email id through the Direct Permissions section. This section has 4 options to manage the permissions of your users.
    Project
Select a project from the drop-down to which you want to give permission to the users. You can select only one project at a time if you want to select more than one project then click Add row.
    Environment
In the Environment section, you can select one or more than one or all environments at a time. Click on the environment section, you will see a drop-down of your environments and select any environment on which you want to give permission to the user.
IMP If all environments option is selected then user gets access to all current environments and any new environment which gets associated with this application later.
    Applications
Similarly, you can select Applications from the drop-down corresponding to your selected Environments. In this section, you can also give permissions to one or more than one or to all applications at a time.
IMP If all applications option is selected then user gets access to all current applications and any new application which gets associated with this project later.
    Roles
    Inside the Role, you actually choose which type of permissions you want to give to the users.
There are four different view access levels/Role available for both User and Group as described above:
You can add multiple rows, for Direct Permissions.
Once you have finished assigning the appropriate permissions for the listed users, Click on Save.

Chart group permissions

You can also manage the access of users to Chart Groups in your project. By default, user has the View permission for the charts deployed in the environments on which he/she has at least view access to any application.
You can either give the users permission to Create or Edit.
Click on the checkbox of Create, if you want the users to create, view, edit, or delete all the chart groups.
Click on the checkbox of Edit, if you want to allow or deny users to edit the chart groups.
Select on Deny option from the drop-down menu, if you want to restrict the users to edit the chart groups.
Select the Specific Charts option from the drop-down menu, and then select the chart groups for which you want to allow users to edit, from the other drop-down menu.
Click on Save, once you have configured all the required permissions for the users.

3. Edit User Permissions

You can edit the user permissions, by clicking on the downward arrow.
Then you can edit the user permissions here.
After you have done editing the user permissions. Click on Save.
If you want to delete the user/users with particular permissions. Click on Delete.

Groups

The advantage of the groups is to define a set of privileges like create, edit, or delete for the given set of resources that can be shared among the users within the group. Users can be added to an existing group to utilize the privileges that it grants. Any access change to group is reflected immediately in user access.
You can select the group which you are creating in the Group permissions section inside Add users.

1. Add new Group

Click on Add Group, to create a new group.
Enter the Group Name and Description.

2. Create Group Permissions

Once you have given the group name and group description.
Then, control the access permissions of groups in the Direct Permissions section. Manage the Project, Environment, Application, and Role access the same as we discuss in the above users section.
You can add multiple rows, for the Direct Permissions section.
Once you have finished assigning the appropriate permissions for the listed users, Click on Save.

3. Edit Group Permissions

You can edit the group permissions, by clicking on the downward arrow.
Then you can edit the user permissions here.
Once you are done editing the group permissions. Click on Save.
If you want to delete the groups with particular permissions. Click on Delete.

4. Manage Chart Group Permissions

The chart group permissions for the group will be managed in the same way as for the users. For reference, check Manage chart group permissions for users.
Last modified 1mo ago